Orthodox Arts Journal

Hey everybody. I would like to introduce a new project I’m working on.

First things first; where have I been?
I started a Fellowship with the John Jay Institute in January. The John Jay Institute is a private non-profit which exists for no other purpose than taking committed Christians, recently graduated from college, and making them into principled public leaders. As a John Jay Fellow, I was required to read on average 120 pages per night, write a 500 word essay for class the next morning, live with 13 other Fellows, attend morning and evening prayers (the Institute is run by the Rev. Alan Crippen, of the Anglican Church of Nigeria). Each Friday we went on a field study, visiting historic places and homes, battlefields, examples of fine civic architecture, and other non-profits fighting the good fight.

This was a formative experience in my life, and it is intended to be such. I made life-long friends and reinvigorated a love for learning I thought was long dead, but most importantly, I was able to discern my place and my vocation in this life. (The busy schedule is also what has kept me from posting here!)

That brings me to the topic at hand. After the 15-week academic residency in Philadelphia, each Fellow is required to put their lessons to task and find an internship (which the Institute pays for ) in pursuit of their vocation. Many of my fellow Fellows are in D.C., some as far afield as Oregon, California, and soon Slovakia. I am in Charleston, SC. My internship is under the tutelage of renowned Orthodox architect and liturgical artist, Andrew Gould( see his sites here, and here). Our main project this summer is the Orthodox Arts Journal.

From our website:

The Orthodox Arts Journal publishes articles and news for the promotion of traditional Orthodox liturgical arts. The Journal covers visual arts, music, liturgical ceremony and texts, and relevant art history and theory. The Journal presents these topics together to highlight the unified witness of the arts to the beauty of the Kingdom of God and to promulgate an understanding of how the arts work together in the worship of the Church. In the spirit of the revival of traditional Orthodox liturgical arts sparked by Kontoglou and Ouspensky, the Journal will publicize excellence in contemporary liturgical arts, emphasizing fidelity to the Church’s tradition of beauty and craft.

This is what will absorb the majority of my time this summer. As I am able, I will still try to post here, but I cannot predict any degree of regularity. So please, visit the site, read the articles, click on the artists we’ve featured and build your understanding of the place of the arts in the Church.

I would also recommend the John Jay Institute to anyone who is interested in pairing their faith and their work, is recently graduated from college (or in their senior season), willing to challenge themselves academically, and prepare for further schooling or meaningful work.

- Patrick

One response

  1. Pingback: New Orthodox Christian Arts Journal | @ActonInstitute PowerBlog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers